Make your own free website on

Friends of the Washington Parish Library

Poetry Contest
News for Members
About Us
Constitution & Bylaws
Our Library
Washington Parish Tales
Bogue Chitto Pearl Cook-Off
Disbursement Committee Report
Poetry Contest
60th Anniversary
Contact Us

Winners of 
Second Annual
Washington Parish Library
Poetry Contest
receive awards at
Bogue Chitto Pearl Wild Game Cook-Off
     Janice Goff, chair of the Second Annual Washington Parish Library Poetry Contest, which was sponsored by FWPL, presented trophies and award certificates to winners of the contest at the Bogue Chitto Pearl Wild Game Cook-Off and Barbecue.  The certificates were signed by Parish President M. E. 'Toye' Taylor and State Senator Ben Nevers.
     Winners were the following.
     Best Poet:  Benjamin E. Giuffria of the Bogalusa Home School Group.  Dory Giuffria, teacher.
     Group I
     First Place:  Ashley Gonzales, Ben's Ford Christian School.  Bridget Knight, teacher.
     Second Place:  Seth Schilling
     Third Place:  Ayriana Culpepper
     Honorable Mention:  Mallory Corkern
     Group II
     First Place:  Marcey DeLeon, Enon Elementary School.  Ann Creel, teacher.
     Second Place:  Brandon Edwards, Rebecca Talley, Haley Sumrall
     Third Place:  Allen Barber and Jasmine Peters
     Group III
     First Place:  Ariel Jones, Ben's Ford Christian School.  Dennye Berry, teacher.
     Second Place:  Niky Upton
     Third Place:  Meagan Thomas
     Honorable Mention:  Winter Thibodeaux, Katelyn Jones, Steven Crenshaw, Brittani Edwards, Jordan Quave.
     Group IV
     First Place:  Felicia Seal, Ben's Ford Christian School.  Jana Pounds, teacher.
     Second Place:  Leah Stogner
     Third Place:  Robyn Hines
     Honorable Mention:  Cathy New and Lindsay Steele
     Teachers of first place winners were presented a book of poetry.

Friends of the Washington Parish Library
c/o Library Headquarters
825 Free Street
Franklinton, LA 70438